PESKY GEE! - Exclamation Mark

On sale
PESKY GEE! - Exclamation Mark


Starting out as a typical U.K. club soul band, and then turning toward psychedelia and prog rock in the latter half of the ‘60s, Pesky Gee! changed their name in 1970 to Black Widow and reached the public eye with their occult masterpiece Sacrifice. Their 1969 debut on Pye is to be considered a turning point in the british jazz-blues scene. With a cool Hammond organ vibe and some truly fascinating acid-folk harmonies - both intoned by male and female singers – Exclamation Mark is more than a mythological album !
Tracklist :

_Side A
1 Another Country (R. Polte)
2 Pigs Foots (Ben Dixon)
3 Season Of The Witch (D. Leitch)
4 A Place Of Heartbreak (M. Rabbit)

_Side B
1 Where Is My Mind? (M. Stein)
2. Piece Of My Heart (J. Ragovoy, B. Berns)
3 Dharma For One (Anderson, Bunker)
4 Peace Of Mind (John Whitney, Roger Chapman)
5 Born To Be Wild (Mars Bonfire)

Iniziando come una tipica band soul da club del Regno Unito e poi orientandosi verso la psichedelia e il prog rock nella seconda metà degli anni '60, i Pesky Gee! cambiarono il loro nome in Black Widow nel 1970 e raggiunsero il grande pubblico con il loro capolavoro occulto Sacrifice. Il loro debutto del 1969 con la Pye è da considerarsi un punto di svolta nella scena jazz-blues britannica. Con un fresco sound di organo Hammond e alcune armonie acid-folk veramente affascinanti, intonate sia da cantanti maschili che femminili, Exclamation Mark è più di un album mitologico!